Ulpia Traiana Sarmizegetusa
Colonia Ulpia Traiana Augusta Dacica Sarmizegetusa - the capital of the Roman Dacia - rose at the bottom of Retezat Mountains, in the South-Western part of the Hateg region. The town was at 8 km from the pass between Banat and Transylvania, which old name was Tapae, today Iron Gates of Transylvania.The settlement date of the capital is not known exactly. An inscription discovered at the beginning of the 14th century, in the village Gradiste - Sarmizegetusa says: "On the command of the emperor Cesar Nerva Traianus Augustus, son of the devine Nerva, was settled the Dacian Colony by Decimus Terentius Scaurianus, its governor". The name of the governor shows that the settlement of the new town was done in the first years of the concerning of Dacia after some opinions in 106-107, after others 108-110. The settlement of the colony was marked also by the emission of a coin sestertius at Rome, from the Senate order, dedicated to "the best ruler", Traian emperor. The choosing of the place of the town by Traian was not at random. The metropolis had some strategical and economical advantages. Retezat Mountains at the South and Poiana Ruscai Mountains at the North were natural barriers difficult to cross for the eventual invaders. The capital, who's territory territorium was from Tibiscum to Micia till the entrance in the Jiu pass, was developing in peace, defended by the Roman camps Tibiscum today Jupa, Voislova, Micia Vetel and Bumbesti. By Ulpia Traian was crossing the imperial road from Danube and marked the link between the North of the province to Porolissum Moigrad.The antic city had an area of 32 ha surrounded by walls. In the hearth of the city were to main roads cardo maximus oriented North-South and decumanus maximus oriented East-West, at its crossing being the main public building - Forum. But the city was not only inside the walls. Outside the walls, on a great area, were the village, the craftsmen workshops brick makers, glass blowers, the temples and other public or private buildins. Also outside the walls were the cemeteries of the city sepulcreta identified at East and also at the West. The population was around 25.000 - 30.000 people. The archaeologists have discovered and get out to light the constructions from old times of Ulpia Traiana, as many objects which are hosted in the museum from nearby.
ColÈ Church
Colt Church is located in the Suseni village of the commune Râu de Mori in Hunedoara county.The church was built at the beginning of the fourteenth century, between 1310-1315 and stands out with two particular elements: first,the location of a tower over the shrine and second,the remains of mural painting inside.From the beggining ColÈ Church was an orthodox church.
Prislop Monastery
According to some local stories passed on by oral tradition, the monasteryâs church may has been constructed by the apprentices of master-builder Nicodim in the 14th century. Recent researches have shown that the architectural plan and even the structure of the monument combine all the characteristic features of the religious architecture of that epoch. The monastery underwent major repairs in 1564, through the generosity of Princess Zamfira, the daughter of Moise Voivode, who ruled over Walachia between 1529 and 1530. After her father had fallen in the battle of Viisoara that had taken place in 1530, the princess took refuge in the province of Transylvania, where she settled down and got married. She was entombed in this monastery. In 1762, General Bukow set fire to the monastic establishment â causing serious damage to it. Over the succeeding centuries it was renovated many times. Although the monastery has been a focus for the spiritual life of the Romanians beyond the Carpathian Mountains and had a great historical significance, it was closed down as a result of the Governmental Ordinance no 410/1959, issued on the orders of the communist authorities. In 1973, a monk settles on the premises and tried to revive the monastic life of this place. In 1976, through the persevering efforts of the ever-memorable Father Arsenie Boca and of Mother Zamfira Constantinescu, the holy establishment was reopened and served as a convent.After 1990, conservation, consolidation and restoration activities have been carried out within the monastery. A theological school for training both young female resident monastic and lay young women has also been accommodated in the monastery. In June 1992, the Holy Synod of the Romanian Orthodox Church decided to canonize Venerable Ioan of Prislop, who was one of the most outstanding representatives of the Romanian monasticism at the end of the 14th century. Antonie Plamadeala, Metropolitan of Ardeal, took religious vows and entered the monastic life in this very monastery. The holy establishment also shelters a monastic theological seminary.
DensuÅ Church
At DensuÈ exists a bizarre but very elegant church. It is very near from the former Roman Dacia capital - Colonia Ulpia Traiana Augusta Sarmizegetusa. This strange building from the Hateg County was the object of many controversies between scientists, eager to find its origins. Some had considered that the church was first a mausoleum for Roman general Longinus Maximus, killed by the Dacians; others that it was a temple for Mars god; Nicolae Iorga said that the monument dates from 14th century, and art historian Vatasescu in the last quarter of the 13th century. Many investigations were made. But the monument is still its mystery. It is assumed that the old church was modified along the centuries, especially at the end of the 13th. Built from river rocks, bricks with Roman inscriptions, funerary stones, canalizations, etc., taken from Ulpia Traiana, the Densus church has a bizarre aspect, being admired but also looked with astonishment. In the interior some fragments of painting are kept. The paintings from the upper naves and altar are signed by the artist Stefan signature that can be seen till today and are revealing the great artistic skills of the master. The features of the painting send us to those of the St. Nicolae Church from Curtea de Arges, built in the 14th century. The resemblance is telling us that a master from Vallachia was present here in Transylvania.
ColÈ Citadel
The citadel was built in the 14th century,by the Cândea family.The citadel is situated on the territory of Suseni village,Râu de Mori commune,Hunedoara County,on the DJ 686 road,20 km away from HaÈeg. Because of the appearance of the citadel and toponymy of the places, it is assumed that these would have inspired the novel "The Castle in the Carpathians" by Jules Verne.The citadel is in a state of increased degradation, being practically a ruin.
SântÄmÄrie Orlea Castle
The Kendeffy family raised the stateliest noble mansion in the Hateg Country,probably on the site of an older residence in Sântamarie Orlea .It is a complex of buildings,a massive nobiliary residence,with a tower raised West of its Northern façade and with two other outhousesthe stables and the servants'house,lying Northwards,U-shaped.In the l8th century,a superb Latin inscription was laid above the entrance,testifying to the couple's love and featuring the coats of arms of the families who owned the building at the time.
Gura Apei Dam
Gura Apei Dam is built in the mountains about 40 km from Hateg, is the highest rockfill dam in Europe. Dam construction began in 1975.The dimensions of the dam are impressive: 168 meters high, 225 million cubic meters of water in the lake, the size of the entire dam surpasses three times that of the Keops pyramid.
HaÈeg Country Dinosaur Geopark
If you're into really old things you can visit the Dinosaur Geopark from the HaÅ£eg County. Near Sânpetru commune, a few km away from the European road E79, surrounded by a beautiful landscape, were found remnants of herbivorous dinosaurs along with those of turtles and crocodillians dating back to the time when the region was an island in the Tethys Sea. Fossils were found in different regions of HaÅ£eg County, but the Dinosaur Geopark remains the best places were worldwide scientists can study the unique dwarf dinosaurs of Transylvania. Some of the fossils found here belong to dinosaur species such as Magyarosaurus dacus a titanosaurid sauropod, Rhabdodon priscus an iguanodontid, Telmatosaurus transsylvanicus a âduck-billedâ dinosaur or Struthiosaurus transylvanicus an ankylosaur or âarmored dinosaurâ and other reptiles such as Kallokibotion bajazidi turtles, Allodaposuchus precedens crocodillians or the flying Hatzegopterix thambema.
Subcetate Fortress
Subcetate lies three km North-East of the highway between Sântamarie Orlea and the town of Hateg.Close to the entrance in Subcetate,on a height of 100 m difference of level,you can still see the ruins of the most important medieval fortress in Hateg.It was built in the late 13th century.Starting with the 15th century,it was the property of Cândea family of Râu de Mori,by the special grace of Prince Ioan of Hunedoara.Any role the fortress may have had was lost in the first half of the 16th century.